Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.

1958

Américo Amorim's first trip to the Soviet Union marks the start of a tour to the Eastern Bloc countries. Overcoming major constraints which were risky at the time, Amorim & Irmãos becomes the biggest Portuguese exporter to Eastern Europe.

1953

The third Amorim generation assumes control of Amorim &Irmãos, Lda. During the post-war period, the four brothers - José, António, Américo and Joaquim Ferreira de Amorim - take the helm of the company and the responsibility for changing the face of the Portuguese cork industry.

1952

Henrique Alves de Amorim receives the commendation of Officer of the Order of Public Instruction. It was in recognition for his dedication to his town. He invested over 32 000 000 Escudos in improvements to the town, which is confirmed by a handwritten signed manuscript, affixed on one of the walls of the portrait room in the Santa Maria de Lamas Museum.
As a result of his support, a series of important infrastructures were created in Santa Maria de Lamas, such as the Museum and its respective collection, the cinema, schools and school canteens, kindergartens and an after-school centre, swimming pools and low-rent housing, an anti-tuberculosis dispensary, parks and gardens, buildings for the Post Office, Casa do Povo (community centre) and for the exploitation and supply of domestic water.

1950

Amorim & Irmãos, Lda. has extensive knowledge of cork and the functioning of the market. The proper valuation of this raw material enables the company to resume its position as the largest cork manufacturer in the north.